Log in or Create account

NUMERO 14 - 12/06/2024

 Cyprus: a new chance towards European trust

On 9 June 2024 for the fifth time Cypriot citizens will be called upon to elect members of the European Parliament. Since joining the European Union on 1 May 2004, 20 years have passed, during which the island has remained divided despite significant attempts at reunification.  As it stands, Cyprus it’s the only EU member state with part of its territory occupied by a foreign power. The Cyprus issue originated in the early 1950s, when the island, at that time a British colony, was divided between those who aspired to annex it to Greece (enòsis) and those who claimed pro-Turkish ties (taksim). Faced with these independence drives, United Kingdom, Greece and Turkey unsuccessfully engaged in negotiations, which ended with the signing of the Treaty of Zurich (19 February 1959). A year later, with the Treaty of London (16 August 1960), the Republic of Cyprus (ROC) was officially proclaimed and, in the same year, the Constitution of Cyprus was promulgated, which recognized the division of the territory… (continues)

Execution time: 28 ms - Your address is
Software Tour Operator