Log in or Create account

FOCUS - Africa N. 3 - 11/12/2019

 Is the EU-ACP partnership still suitable for Africa?

The Cotonou Partnership Agreement (CPA) establishes a broad partnership between  the EU and 79 African, Caribbean and Pacific countries (ACP). As a whole, the agreement brings together more than one hundred countries, representing a population of more than one and half billion people. The grouping was initially based on a shared colonial condition. In 1957, the Treaty of Rome, while not providing any competence in the field of development aid, envisaged the association with the fledgling European Economic Community of "non-European countries and territories which have special relations with Member States" (art.131, italics added). Since then, a "special relation" with these countries has been maintained through the Yaoundé Agreement (in force from 1965 to 1975) and the subsequent Lomé Conventions (1975 to 2000). In 2000, the Cotonou Agreement notably enlarged the partnership, adding new fields of cooperation and increasing its ambitions. The agreement is based upon three pillars: development, trade and "political dialogue". The first pillar, development, is currently implemented on the basis of joint programming, aiming to increase partners' ownership and accountability. The partnership receives... (segue)


Execution time: 69 ms - Your address is
Software Tour Operator